Return to Headlines

District 47 Technology Leader Recognized for Excellence in Communications


Tommy Chanthasene photo

D47's technology network manager Tommy Chanthasene (left) was recognized at the 2019 INSPRA Communications Contest awards. Also pictured is Dave Jenkins, assistant superintendent of technology services. 


Crystal Lake Elementary District 47 was recently recognized for its exceptional communications efforts by the state’s school public relations association. 


The Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association (INSPRA) held its annual Communications Contest Awards luncheon on September 13, 2019, at which the top communications initiatives in the state were recognized in a variety of categories. Professional school communicators from across the country judged the 158 submissions. Each entry was evaluated by three judges against a rubric of excellence, with awards given to those that scored within the established ranges for merit and excellence. Tommy Chanthasene, District 47 technology network manager, received an award of merit in the in-house video category. 


With a background in technology and former career in music and video, Chanthasene applies his creative talents in District 47 in numerous ways. With the launch of the district’s strategic plan in 2018-19, Chanthasene created a video series about the 6Cs of education for staff. The 6Cs -- collaboration, creativity, citizenship, critical thinking, character, and communication --  are embedded in the district’s strategic plan goal related to student growth and achievement. 


“Tommy worked closely with our department of student learning to create this video series for staff highlighting the 6Cs,” said Denise Barr, director of communications and public engagement. “His talents and creativity helped bring our strategic plan to life as it demonstrated how these important life skills and personal attributes are being taught and reinforced in our schools on a daily basis.” To view the video series, go to     


The complete list of 2019 INSPRA Communications Contest winners can be viewed at