• Board of Education

    District 47 is governed by the Board of Education, an elected body of community members that are charged with providing oversight and accountability of the District to the community. Members are elected for four-year terms during the Spring municipal election cycle. Those members who are appointed to fill vacancies due to resignation or vacancy in an office hold the office until the next election cycle.


    Role of a School Board Member

    School board members are elected to represent the citizens of a school district. School board members are responsible for:

    • The employment and evaluation of a superintendent;
    • Establishing policies;

    • Monitoring the progress of the District;

    • Adopting an annual budget for the District and approving all expenditures;

    • Employing school personnel upon the recommendation of the Superintendent.


    When to Contact Your School Board

    (excerpts from the Illinois Association of School Boards)

    Some people wish to contact the Board of Education with their questions, suggestions and concerns. Sometimes this works, particularly if a district-wide policy is involved. More often than not, the matter must be directed to the Superintendent, or another staff member for handling. Remember that an individual board member has no authority other than to vote on official actions at meetings.


    The best point of contact when you have a concern is with the person(s) directly involved. That would be a teacher where a student-related problem is involved, for example, or the principal where a school regulation of practice is of concern to you. When a situation cannot be resolved at the lowest possible level, it should be taken to the next level in the "chain of command".

2023/24 Board Members

  • Dr. Tim Mahaffy, President

    Mrs. Emily Smith, Vice President

    Dr. Debra Barton

    Mrs. Courtney Hand

    Dr. Lisa Messinger

    Mr. Jonathan Powell

    Mrs. Laura Stanton

    To view information about their training, length of time on the board, and current term, please click here.

    Comments (-1)