• Dawn Austin

    dmaustin@d47.org

    Voicemail (815) 788-3985

  • Week of Nov. 18 - Nov. 22, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 11/19/2019

    Monday, Nov. 18, 2019

    • Build a Better Igloo Engineering Project

     

    Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2019

    • Test Igloos
    • Review for Quiz tomorrow

     

    Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2019

    • Quiz on Temperature, Heat, and States of Matter
    • Student Led Conferences 5pm - 8pm

     

    Thursday, Nov. 21, 2019

    • Ice Cream Lab

     

    Friday, Nov. 22, 2019

    • The Science of Gratitude

     

    Student-led Conferences next week!

     - Monday 12:00 - 8:00pm

     - Tuesday 8:00 - 11:00am

     

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

     

    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Nov. 11 - Nov. 15, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 11/12/2019

    Monday, Nov. 11, 2019

    • Finish graphs and questions for Lauric acid lab
    • Go over quizzes/binders/journals

     

    Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019

    • Energy and States of Matter Notes
    • Energy Bar graph explanation
    • Activity #18 - Bar Charts worksheet

     

    Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2019

    • Bill Nye "Heat" episode and worksheet
    • BrainPop assignment - Temperature and States of Matter
    • Ice cream money due Friday

     

    Thursday, Nov. 14, 2019

    • Whiteboard Bar charts from Tueday
    • Activity #19 - More Energy Bar graphs
    • Science packet due tomorrow

     

    Friday, Nov. 15, 2019

    • Prep for Student-Led Conferences
    • Hand out Study Guide for Quiz on Temperature, Thermal Energy and Phases of Matter
    • Quiz next Wed, Nov. 20
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Nov. 4 - Nov. 8, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 11/5/2019

    Monday, Nov. 4, 2019

    • States of Matter and Phase Changes 
    • PP and notes, complete worksheet (resources on Google Classroom)

     

    Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019

    • Two Bolts Lab (Activity #15)

     

    Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2019

    • Go over lab and phase change w.s.
    • Eureka Videos #20-21 - notes in journal
    • Start Temperature worksheet (Act #16)

     

    Thursday, Nov. 7, 2019

    • Finish up w.s. in groups and whiteboard/discuss
    • Temperature probes and practice with graphing app

     

    Friday, Nov. 1, 2019

    • Freezing Point of Lauric Acid (Act. #17)
    • Collected folders
    • Science World packet due next Fri. Nov. 15
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Oct. 28 - Nov. 1, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 10/28/2019

    Monday, Oct. 28, 2019

    • Correct Density Practice Problems
    • Review for test tomorrow

     

    Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2019

    • 1.1 Describing Matter Quiz
    • Science News/Science World summary assignment due Friday

     

    Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2019

    • Mixing Water and Mitten Problem (Activity #10)
    • Activity #11 - Ice Melting Blocks

     

    Thursday, Oct. 31, 2019

    • Slime Time
    • Research questions due Monday

     

    Friday, Nov. 1, 2019

    • Class discussion/wrap up mitten problem and Ice Melting Blocks activities
    • Read article "Thermal Conductors and Insulators" - answer questions in journal
    • New Science World packet due Fri. Nov. 15
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Oct. 21 - Oct. 25, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 10/23/2019

    Monday, Oct. 21, 2019

    • Activity #6 - Exploring the Mass/Volume Realtionship

     

    Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2019

    • Finish up activity from yesterday
    • Any questions not done in class are HOMEWORK

     

    Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2019

    • Density Notes and practice problems
    • Complete Density worksheet (Activity #7) for homework

     

    Thursday, Oct. 24, 2019

    • Activity #8 - Predicting the Behavior of Matter
    • Science World due tomorrow

     

    Friday, Oct. 25, 2019

    • Activity #9 - Density of Water

     

    Quiz next Tuesday on Describing the Properties of Matter

    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Oct. 14 - Oct. 18, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 10/15/2019

    Monday, Oct. 14, 2019

    • No School

     

    Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2019

    • Finish up activity from last Thurs.
    • "Particle Model of Matter" - Powerpoint notes
    • Eureka Videos on Solids, Liquids and Gases - notes in journal

     

    Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2019

    • Activity #5 - Making Inferences about Particles in Solids, Liquids and Gases

     

    Thursday, Oct. 17, 2019

    • Finish up stations from yesterday
    • Whiteboard session on Act #4-5

     

    Friday, Oct. 18, 2019

    • Finished White board session
    • Worked on Science World and notes from Tuesday
    • Science World due next Friday.
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Oct.7 - Oct. 11, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 10/10/2019

    Monday, Oct. 7, 2019

    • Activity #2 - Classifying Matter

     

    Tuesday, Oct. 8, 2019

    • finish Act #2 from yesterday
    • Activity #3 - Properties of Solids, Liquids and Gases

     

    Wednesday, Oct. 9, 2019

    • Field Trip to Cantigny Park

     

    Thursday, Oct. 10, 2019

    • Activity #4 - Evidence of Tiny Particles

     

    Friday, Oct. 11, 2019

    • "Big Brain Theory" - Episode 1 - notes in journal
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Sept. 30 - Oct. 4, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 10/1/2019

    Monday, Sept. 30, 2019

    • Correct graphs from last week
    • Graphical Analysis worksheet - homework

     

    Tuesday, Oct. 1, 2019

    • Graphing Quiz
    • Collect Lab folders/binders

     

    Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2019

    • Is it a Model? (in journals)
    • Can you explain this?

     

    Thursday, Oct. 3, 2019

    • Describing Matter
    • Finish questions for homework

     

    Friday, Oct. 4, 2019

    • Go over questions from yesterday
    • Organize folders for new unit
    • Science World articles
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Sept. 23 - Sept. 27, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 9/24/2019

    Monday, Sept.23, 2019

    • Spaghetti Bridge Lab

     

    Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2019

    • Finish collecting data 
    • Graph and questions #1-2 due tomorrow

     

    Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019

    • Whiteboard/discuss results
    • Slope and Intercept BrainPop - homework
    • Graphing Quiz next Tues.

     

    Thursday, Sept. 26, 2019

    • Notes/practice problems on Slope and y-intercept
    • Graphing Applications worksheets

     

    Friday, Sept. 27, 2019

    • Graphing Stations Activity
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Sept. 16 - Sept. 20, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 9/16/2019

    Monday, Sept.16, 2019

    • Correct packet from last week
    • Metric System notes in journal - see Google Classroom
    • Homework  - video clip "Precision and Accuracy" - see Google Classroom

     

    Tuesday, Sept. 17, 2019

    • Discuss video and 3-2-1's
    • Measuring the Measuring Tool w.s.
    • Reminder - Quiz this Friday!

     

    Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2019

    • Ladder Method Conversions
    • Precision and Accuracy worksheets

     

    Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019

    • Review for Summative Quiz tomorrow - see Google Classroom

     

    Friday, Sept. 20, 2019

    • Summative Quiz on Metric System, measurment, and science vocabulary

    Comments (-1)