• Dawn Austin

    dmaustin@d47.org

    Voicemail (815) 788-3985

  • Week of Feb. 10 - Feb. 14, 2020

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 2/12/2020

    Monday, Feb. 10, 2020

    • Origami Frogs
    • Start lab (in journal)

     

    Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2020 

    • Finish up lab
    • Activity #4 Frog Energy Bar charts

     

    Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2020

    • Kinetic Energy Activty

     

    Thursday, Feb 13, 2020 

     

    Friday, Feb. 14, 2020

    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Feb. 3 - Feb. 7, 2020

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 2/5/2020

    Monday, Feb. 3, 2020

    • Project Gallery Walk (with other science classes)

     

    Tuesday, Feb. 4, 2020 

    • Final Roller Coaster Build 
    • Test Coasters

     

    Wednesday, Feb. 5, 2020

    • Clean out folders
    • Activity #2 - Energy Skate Park

     

    Thursday, Feb 6, 2020

    • Energy Powerpoint - Notes in journal
    • Finish Skate Park activity
    • BrainPop quiz - Kinetic Energy

     

    Friday, Feb. 7, 2020

    • Whiteboard Skate Park questions

     

    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Jan. 27 - Jan. 31, 2020

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 1/30/2020

    Monday, Jan. 27, 2020

    • Element Awareness Campaign Project

     

    Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2020 

    • Fastbridge Testing
    • Continue Element Project

     

    Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2020

    • Fastbridge Testing
    • Last day to work on Element Project in class
    • Project due Friday

     

    Thursday, Jan. 30, 2020

    • Engineering Project - Roller Coaster Challenge

     

    Friday, Jan. 31, 2020

    • Continue Roller Coasters

     

    Comments (-1)
  • Week Jan. 20 - Jan. 24, 2020

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 1/22/2020

    Monday, Jan. 20, 2020

    • No School

     

    Tuesday, Jan. 21, 2020

    • History of the Atom video - notes in journal
    • Atomic Timeline

     

    Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2020

    • Finish timeline
    • Notes on drawing Bohr Models (video on Google Classroom)
    • Bohr Model practice worksheet
    • Study guide due tomorrow

     

    Thursday, Jan. 23, 2020

    • Review for test tomorrow

     

    Friday, Jan. 24, 2020

    • Structure and Properties of Matter - Final Test
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Jan. 13 - Jan. 16, 2020

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 1/15/2020

    Monday, Jan. 13, 2020

    • Folder check
    • Correct PhET worksheet from Friday

     

    Tuesday, Jan. 14, 2020

    • Notes on Periodic Table in journal
    • Placing the Elements on the Periodic Table

     

    Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2020

    • Finish activity from yesterday
    • Get to the Know the Elelments - use periodic table posted on Google Classroom
    • Handed out study guide for final - due next Thurs. Jan. 23

     

    Thursday, Jan. 16, 2020

    • AIM Lesson #11 - Electron Shells

     

    Friday, Jan. 17, 2020

    • No School - Teacher Institute
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Jan. 6 - Jan. 10, 2020

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 1/8/2020

    Monday, Jan. 6, 2020

    • Big Brain Ep. #3 - notes in journal

     

    Tuesday, Jan. 7, 2020

    • Atomic Structure and Periodic Table Basics

     

    Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2020

    • Notes on Atomic Structure in journal
    • Correct worksheet

     

    Thursday, Jan. 9, 2020

    • Atomic Structure worksheet

     

    Friday, Jan. 10, 2020

    • PhET Simulation - "Build an Atom"
    • Science World due Monday
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Dec. 16 - Dec. 20, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 12/18/2019

    Monday, Dec. 16, 2019

    • Chemical Reaction Demonstrations - notes in journal

     

    Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2019

    • Element, Compound, Mixture packet
    • Review for quiz

     

    Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2019

    • 1.4 - 1.5 Quiz on Elements, Compounds, Mixtures and Chemical/Physical Changes

     

    Thursday, Dec. 19, 2019

    • Smores Lab
    • Organize folders
    • Science World

     

    Friday, Dec. 20, 2019

    • Myth Busters Holiday Episode
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Dec. 9 - Dec. 13, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 12/13/2019

    Monday, Dec. 9, 2019

    • Finish lab from last Friday (Activity #23)
    • Conclusion - Claim, Evidence, Reasoning paragraph
    • HW - BrainPop "Changing Matter"

     

    Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2019

    • Whioteboard conclusioins
    • Go over last test - notes in journal
    • Re-take instructions posted on Google Classroom

     

    Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2019

    • Notes on Chemical/Physical Changes in journal
    • Create fodlable (part of study guide for quiz next week)
    • Quiz next Wed. Dec. 18

     

    Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019

    • Activity #24 - Chemical and Physical Changes Lab

     

    Friday, Dec. 13, 2019

    • Core 3-4 finish lab
    • Study guide for quiz next Week
    • finish foldables 
    • New Science World handed out - due Mon, Jan. 13, 2020

     

    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Dec. 2 - Dec. 6, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 12/6/2019

    Monday, Dec. 2, 2019

    • Big Brain Theory Episode #2

     

    Tuesday, Dec. 3, 2019

    • Activity #22  - Classifying Matter (parts 1 and 2)

     

    Wednesday, Dec. 4, 2019

    • Finish Part 3
    • Notes in journal on Powerpoint and Video (posted on Google Classroom)

     

    Thursday, Dec, 5, 2019

    • Whiteboard parts 2 and 3 of lab
    • Correct questions on Ice cream lab

     

    Friday, Dec. 6, 2019

    • Activity #23 - Looking for Something New (part 1)
    Comments (-1)
  • Week of Nov. 18 - Nov. 22, 2019

    Posted by Dawn Austin on 11/19/2019

    Monday, Nov. 18, 2019

    • Build a Better Igloo Engineering Project

     

    Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2019

    • Test Igloos
    • Review for Quiz tomorrow

     

    Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2019

    • Quiz on Temperature, Heat, and States of Matter
    • Student Led Conferences 5pm - 8pm

     

    Thursday, Nov. 21, 2019

    • Ice Cream Lab

     

    Friday, Nov. 22, 2019

    • The Science of Gratitude

     

    Student-led Conferences next week!

     - Monday 12:00 - 8:00pm

     - Tuesday 8:00 - 11:00am

     

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

     

    Comments (-1)